Riverhead Neighborhood Preservation Coalition 
Wading River

Home Page                                                                              


There have been two individuals from the Jamesport-South Jamesport Civic Association who put in resumes for the vacancies on both the Zoning Board of Appeals and the Town Planning Board.  To-date there has been no response or acknowledgement from Town Hall.

With regard to the Planning Board, the Town Board is calling for a "farmer" to be the new addition- and yet there sits Dick O'Dea, a local farmer from Herricks Lane.

As usual there was no public notice nor are there any qualifications detailed for the vacancies on these two land use and management boards.

On another note, the vacancy on the Recreation Committee was filled with no public announcement.  While the work of George Gabrielson is not in question, it seems that rather than recycling individuals, we provide an opportunity for all interested and qualified persons to apply.

There are several Town committees that need "new blood".  Unfortunately there is no payment for participation.  Interested individuals may wish to consider the Architectural Review Board {ARB}; the Conservation Advisory Council [CAC] which by the way has not made any new appointments even though the terms of ALL members expired in 2013; and the many others listed below.  In essence there is probably an available seat in each and every one.


Ag Advisory

Anti Bias Task Force [ looking for more members]

Animal Control Advisory Committee

Anti-Litter Advisory Committee

Board of Assessment Review

East Creek Advisory Committee

Farmland Preservation

Handicapped Advisory

Open Space

Senior Citizen Advisory Council

Small Business Advisory Council

Traffic and Safety Committee

Veterans Advisory Committee

Youth Advisory Committee

If you would like to become involved, prepare a letter of interest for the committee of your choice, attach it to your resume, and file one copy with the Town clerk, and copy one to the Supervisor and four to the Town Board members.

You can e-mail, hand deliver, or snail mail it:

Town Clerk: Diane Wilhelm, wilhelm@townofriverheadny.gov

Town Supervisor: Sean Walter, lewis@townofriverheadny.gov
                                                     (Mr. Walter’s deputy, Jill Lewis)

Town Board:       James Wooten, wooten@townofriverheadny.gov

Jodi Giglio, giglio@townofriverheadny.gov

John Dunleavy, dunleavy@townofriverheadny.gov

Tim Hubbard, hubbard@townofriverheadny.gov

Town Hall

200 Howell Avenue

Riverhead, NY  11901


Open spaces, quiet hamlets, family farms and leafy neighborhoods are North Fork treasures we cannot afford to take for granted. Riverhead’s rural character and quality of life are being eroded by the spread of excessive development and uses into places where they don’t belong. We believe we can and must protect these precious commodities before they are lost forever.

Our best defense is an engaged and educated public that cares. Please read, think, learn and act!!

Contact RNPC
E-mail RiverheadNPC@optonline.net
Address mail to RNPC, Box  413, Jamesport, NY 11947.   

Follow us on Facebook! 

Website Builder